Skillet Cornbread

I was supposed to post this the same night I posted the BBQ recipe, but I got tired…
So anyway…this was pretty good. Putting the entire pan in the oven was a new concept to me and I was a little unsure, but it came out nice.

1 1/2 cups white cornmeal
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 3/4 cups buttermilk
1 large egg
1 tablespoon vegetable shortening
1 tablespoon bacon greaseDirections:
1 Preheat oven to 475 degrees F.
2 In a mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients and mix well.
3 In another bowl, combine the buttermilk and egg and beat till well blended, then add it to the dry ingredients and mix the bater till blended thoroughly.
4 Place the shortening and bacon grease in a 9″ iron skillet and heat till the shortening melts.
5 Pour the hot fats into the batter, stir well, and pour the batter back into the skillet.
6 Bake in the oven till the cornbread is golden brown, about 20 minutes.
7 To serve, turn the skillet upside down on a big plate, remove, and cut the cornbread into wedges.The link to the recipe is here: http://christmas.food.com/recipe/skillet-cornbread-45451

I took pictures this time!

This one sort of disturbs me:
The warning on the side of my Crisco container...if you need a warning not to use it this way...you should probably seek professional help.

The warning on the side of my Crisco container…if you need a warning not to use it this way…you should probably seek professional help.

Ok…now on to photos of the actual cooking haha.

This is my base mix before you put in the bacon grease. It looks pretty sloppy. Don't fret! Cornbread batter is a lot thinner then cake, cookie or even pancake batter.

This is my base mix before you put in the bacon grease. It looks pretty sloppy. Don’t fret! Cornbread batter is a lot thinner than cake, cookie or even pancake batter.

This is the fun part! 1 Tbsp of bacon fat and 1 Tbsp of veggie shortening...watch it melt, but do it on a medium/low heat otherwise it will spit.

This is the fun part! 1 Tbsp of bacon fat and 1 Tbsp of veggie shortening…watch it melt, but do it on a medium/low heat otherwise it will spit.

The recipe says it makes 4 to 6 servings. Maybe my skillet was 12'? no idea...all I know is that mine made 8 very large wedges.

The recipe says it makes 4 to 6 servings. Maybe my skillet was 12′? no idea…all I know is that mine made 8 very large wedges.

The bread was delicious, but very salty. I made it again tonight as I was supposed to be going to a friends house for dinner tomorrow. I dialed back on the salt a tiny bit and added a smidgen of sugar. It helped a tiny bit, but I could pull back even a bit more. Play with it and salt it to your liking. I tend to like a sweeter cornbread my self. Let me know how you like it and if you made any changes!! Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

